Page 1 of 2

strange characters on command line

Posted: 13. Mar 2013, 20:35
by ikke
Have installed Salix XFCE 14 on a Vaio laptop.

Am getting strange characters on the command line when doing the most trivial operations : cp, rm, mv.

eg

Code: Select all

$ mv nvidia.txt nvidia-salix.txt 
‘nvidia.txt’ -> ‘nvidia-salix.txt’
in vim these rectangles are visible as :
â<80><98>nvidia.txtâ<80><99> -> â<80><98>nvidia-salix.txtâ<80><99>

locale is : "en_US.utf-8".

Any help?

Thank you.

Re: strange characters on command line

Posted: 14. Mar 2013, 19:29
by gapan
Run locale and post the entire output.

Re: strange characters on command line

Posted: 16. Mar 2013, 10:17
by ikke
gapan wrote:Run locale and post the entire output.
Thank you for reaction.

Code: Select all

$ locale
LANG=en_US.utf-8
LC_CTYPE="en_US.utf-8"
LC_NUMERIC="en_US.utf-8"
LC_TIME="en_US.utf-8"
LC_COLLATE=C
LC_MONETARY="en_US.utf-8"
LC_MESSAGES="en_US.utf-8"
LC_PAPER="en_US.utf-8"
LC_NAME="en_US.utf-8"
LC_ADDRESS="en_US.utf-8"
LC_TELEPHONE="en_US.utf-8"
LC_MEASUREMENT="en_US.utf-8"
LC_IDENTIFICATION="en_US.utf-8"
LC_ALL=
Looks Ok?

Thank you for any hint.utf-8

Re: strange characters on command line

Posted: 16. Mar 2013, 13:00
by gapan
What terminal emulator are you using? And what font?

Re: strange characters on command line

Posted: 18. Mar 2013, 17:53
by ikke
gapan wrote:What terminal emulator are you using? And what font?
Guess the default ones provided by Salix 14.0
Terminal 0.4.8 Xfce Terminal Emulator Copyright © 2003-2008 Benedikt Meurer Copyright © 2007-2011 Nick Schermer
Font : DejaVu Sans Mono Style : book.

Thank you for your kind attention.

Re: strange characters on command line

Posted: 18. Mar 2013, 20:08
by gapan
There is nothing that I can think of that could create this. But the example you posted shouldn't work that way either. An mv command (or a cp, or an rm command) doesn't output anything by default. And the default font in salix is terminus. So it seems like that's something you've tweaked in your account. Can you create a new user account and check with that? That will show you if it's a system wide problem or one that has to do with your user configuration.

Re: strange characters on command line

Posted: 19. Mar 2013, 00:10
by knome
Have you done any Bash shell tweaking? Post contents of ~/.bashrc and /etc/profile and ~/.bash_aliases (if it exists)

Re: strange characters on command line

Posted: 19. Mar 2013, 20:51
by ikke
gapan wrote:So it seems like that's something you've tweaked in your account.
knome wrote: Have you done any Bash shell tweaking?
Thank you for reaction.
Guess you are right, but I can't find out what I did wrong.
Here is part of my .bashrc :

Code: Select all

alias mcopy="mcopy -v -m"
alias cp='cp -i -p -v'
alias mv='mv -i -v'
alias rm='rm -v'
alias ll='/bin/ls $LS_OPTIONS --format=long -h'
alias df='df -h'
alias du='du -h'
export HISTCONTROL=ignoredups
export LESSCHARSET=utf-8
export PATH=/root/bin:$PATH
export LANG=en_US.utf-8
export LANGUAGE=en_US.utf-8

alias which="type -path"
alias la="ls -la --color=auto"
alias mkey="xmodmap -e 'keycode 115=Multi_key' "
Any comments?

Thank you.

Re: strange characters on command line

Posted: 19. Mar 2013, 21:16
by mimosa
What does that last one do? Also LESSCHARSET ...

My first step would be to try commenting them out (one each at a time) to see the result. I believe just opening a new terminal is sufficient (no need to reboot) but I could be wrong.

It would probably be helpful to post the entire contents of the requested files. Not only do you not know what the person who asked for them is looking for, but more importantly, probably neither do they till they see it.

Re: strange characters on command line

Posted: 20. Mar 2013, 20:41
by knome
@ ikke

Trying your alias for the mv command I get the following...

Code: Select all

knome[~]$ mv -i -v  nvidia.txt nvidia-salix.txt
‘nvidia.txt’ -> ‘nvidia-salix.txt’
I could be wrong but suggests to me you may have a problem with your keyboard/keymap settings. Have a look at Salix Menu > System > Keyboard (gksu gtkkeyboardsetup).